5 Burpees that KILLED the BINGE Beast

July 5 Today’s inspiration:  I learned Burpees and prayer: not chips are the answer and the remedy to my Binge. What’s your non food remedy?

THe funny thing about a breakthrough is that it can happen on any given ordinary day. Mine happened 5 minutes ago.

I felt as empty as a drum, again. seeing so many “friends” this weekend but feeling so alone and lost and so I indulged at Pollo Loco, one of my favorite local mexican fast food restaurants, to ease the pain.

When I got home I put some dishes away but I was feeling more and more friendless, empty and I wanted…”needed” to eat, to quiet the pain. But I knew that was “the old Roxie” who “self-medicated” with food. There had to be a better way.

Last night when I felt stressed I did 5 burpees. Felt better. Could it work again?

So I did it. I stopped. Dropped and Burpeed. 5 Times. Then did a few squat thrusts. Then a couple more burpees.

I.

Felt.

BETTER.

I wasn’t hungry. Empty. Or sad anymore.

I

Felt

B!E!T!T!E!R.

Can this work everytime? All these years…When I was feeding my pain with food, I could’ve done 5 simple burpees???

I will ALWAYS be grateful to life’s breakthroughs. And I will continue to do Burpees or whatever else I can to distract from binging. Until…

Until it doesn’t work anymore and I have to try something else.

Everyone cant do Burpees. But I think each of us has something we can do to break the mental cycle of sadness…loneliness…frustration…eating to numb the pain…repeat. We just have to find what that something is.

Have you found yours?

Adapted from March 29 Journal Entry

 

Author: roxpiration365

I am a health and fitness blogger and an expert on my life. Since I was 8 years old I've dieted. Finally, I grew up and figured out how to lose 70 lbs. But the maintenance: That's the hardest part. I am hear to share everything I've learned and continue to learn about finding peace with my body and food. I am a lifelong fan of growing spiritually, emotionally and mentally. My goal is to MAINTAIN a healthy weight loss that took more than 15 years to lose and to inspire you and others to do the same. I will share everything I know that has helped me along the way: One tip at a time, 365 days a year. This is my journey. Thank you for being a part of it.

Leave a Reply

