No accidents here: 2 out of 9 ways to lose those stupid lbs: On Purpose

potatoes July 6Photo courtesy of  Creative Commons CC0 at Pixabay.com

July 6. So If you have heard this before you’re not alone “I don’t know how I lost the weight, it just started coming off”. When I hear it, I think one of two things “Are you physically ill and need to see a Doctor?” or,  well…”Are you physically ill, and need to see a Doctor?”

Trust me I use to say “Please tell me your secret!!!” But In the last 30 years or more struggling to win the battle of my own 70 lb weight loss …I have learned this undeniable truth: When you are overweight, as I was, losing weight, unless you have a medical condition, doesn’t happen by accident. It comes from focused, concentrated effort. I’d like to repeat that…it’s pretty key: If you are overweight, losing weight does NOT happen by accident. It comes from focused, concentrated EFFORT. It makes me mad to believe it. Madder to accept it. But once I came to terms -here’s another undeniable truth I’ve learned:

LOSING EXTRA WEIGHT ON PURPOSE-IS SWEETER AND MORE REWARDING THAN ANYTHING I’VE EVER EATEN TO “FEEL BETTER” (if you have been there before, do you remember the feeling of losing the extra lbs after many “long” months of skipping out on the  social eating, the “junk food” and  the “splurges” to hit the gym and eat a salad instead? Do you remember the sweet taste of victory you enjoyed?  maybe it was short lived…but you LIVED IT! and yeah…yeah it was sweet!!… hold on to that memory for the duration of this reading…if you haven’t had it yet, use your imagination and trust that it’s better that it feels even more fulfilling and victorious than that. I’ve been there)

Here are 2 TIPS, from experience, TO ARRIVING OR GETTING BACK TO YOUR  GOAL WEIGHT “Wonderland” …ON PURPOSE.

 ( and one very personal BONUS tip for those of you, like me, who thrive on …Bonus tips;) )…

#1: Wean yourself gradually off of 3 big meals a day. For me it meant one full “meal” ( you know the veggie, carb and protein combination you see on the “perfect plate” image in health magazines). The other two meals were more like “snack size”. But more than the size of your plate, what’s on it matters even more. Here’s a hint for the next one…It’s calories.

#2 Calories, watch ’em. Yup. I’d be the first to want to poopoo my own message here, but experience has taught me: Focused weight loss means consuming less calories than you burn in a day. There’s a lot of intricate science out there that explains how every individual burns a different number of calories when resting due to metabolism etc. And most of it is true. But without having to understand it all you can follow a very simple principle using one of a list of websites  that will actually calculate for you how many calories you need to consume in order to lose weight. Yayuh! Hey, I appreciate every last bit of help I can get in the struggle, so I don’t have to figure it out myself. Just follow the steps- it will do the rest, well, eating less calories is still up to us. But knowledge my friend is OH so powerful! and it starts with asking this simple question: ” how many calories do I need to consume to shed this unwanted weight?”. Here’s two sites I highly recommend that will supply the answer very simply for you : http://www.calculator.net/calorie-calculator and my all time fave (Clue to next tip…) : https://www.myfitnesspal.com/

But, it’s not just about the calories either. Of course. We’ll address that in the tip list to follow…

 

Ah! My BONUS TIP: It’s so simple it’s the hardest one of ALL:

#BONUS: BE!LIEVE! Believe that you will lose the weight and tell yourself that you can and you are losing weight.  ( even if it feels like a lie…I know, but it’s not a lie. It is a fact and will become a fact if you trust it. The most important part? is that it WORKS) Our mind is the most powerful weapon to fight the battle of weight loss…yeah, sometimes it wins the battle over me  too…but the WAR (pause for it!…) is never over.

Stay with me, as I will continue to share my personal tips that I’ve used to lose weight on purpose, more throughout the week. They are all interrelated. but I’ve learned most of us-read:ME- can only handle a few small life changes at once. So we’ll work together at this, poco a poco…litle by little…we we’ll get there together…bit by bit. Until we meet again…

Roxie 🙂

 

 

 

Author: roxpiration365

I am a health and fitness blogger and an expert on my life. Since I was 8 years old I've dieted. Finally, I grew up and figured out how to lose 70 lbs. But the maintenance: That's the hardest part. I am hear to share everything I've learned and continue to learn about finding peace with my body and food. I am a lifelong fan of growing spiritually, emotionally and mentally. My goal is to MAINTAIN a healthy weight loss that took more than 15 years to lose and to inspire you and others to do the same. I will share everything I know that has helped me along the way: One tip at a time, 365 days a year. This is my journey. Thank you for being a part of it.

Leave a Reply

